Bach B minor Mass, Brandenburg Concerto No. 3

Sunday 14 April 2024 at 5pm – Auckland Town Hall

$45-$90 (Children/students from $30) [Service fees will also apply]
Tickets are available via Ticketmaster.

Bach B minor Mass (Kyrie and Gloria)
Brandenburg Concerto No 3

Rita Paczian Conductor
Elizabeth Mandeno Soprano
Christie Cook
Iain Tetley
James Harrison

Bach’s Mass in B minor is widely regarded as one of the supreme achievements of classical music. Alberto Basso summarizes the work as follows:

“Mass in B minor BWV232” is a choral masterpiece composed by Johann Sebastian Bach. Completed in 1749, it is considered one of the greatest achievements in Western classical music. This monumental work consists of 27 movements, including choruses, arias, and duets, and showcases Bach’s exceptional contrapuntal skills and mastery of Baroque style. It is a representation of Bach’s mature compositional style and serves as a summation of his lifelong devotion to sacred music. The Mass in B minor is revered for its complexity, emotional depth, and spiritual grandeur, making it an enduring favourite among both performers and audiences.“
In this performance, we will perform Part I of the Mass – Kyrie and Gloria, a total of 11 movements including choruses, duets and Arias.

The well loved Brandenburg Concertos  is a collection of six instrumental works presented by Bach to Christian LudwigMargrave of Brandenburg-Schwedt, in 1721 (though probably composed earlier). In this concert we will perform Concerto No.3 in G major, consisting of 3 movements – Allegro, Adagio and Allegro.